20170604_141402

Emily is the Volunteer Online Photographer for Oxfam Books Petergate. You can see the fruits of her work (and exclusive books and games you can’t find in the shop) by checking out our online sales. Either press the ‘shop now’ button on our Facebook page, or follow our tiny url at tinyurl.com/oxfamonlinepetergate or click here.

 

What is the most enjoyable part of working at Oxfam Books Petergate?

Spending time with so many like-minded people, often of a similar age to me (students and recent graduates). I get on well with the people I volunteer alongside every week, and also attend regular shop meetings, which allow volunteers from different days or roles to meet and share their experiences. There’s always a friendly, relaxed atmosphere, but I still feel that I make a real difference with every shift.

 

What surprised you most when you became a volunteer with Oxfam?

I applied to volunteer at Petergate mainly to gain bookshop-related retail experience; however, there is a much wider range of tasks to help out with than I had realised. Over time I began to concentrate more on sorting and pricing donations than serving customers on the shop floor, and recently have been able to develop my photography skills by taking pictures for the Oxfam Online shop.

 

