Picture1.png

 

Continuing our focus on National Volunteers’ Week, we were lucky enough to interview Oli, whose day job is in IT, and volunteers with us as a shop assistant. If you think you’ve got what it takes to do what Oli does, we’d love to hear from you.

 

What does being a volunteer at Oxfam mean to you?

For me it means doing ‘your bit’ to make a difference. Individually we can’t change the world, but together Oxfam makes a big impact.
 

What is the most enjoyable part of working at Oxfam Books Petergate?

I enjoy working on the shop floor. Since I work in IT, the work at Oxfam is refreshingly different and I enjoy the contact with the public.

 

What surprised you most when you became a volunteer at Oxfam?

It was pretty much all I expected. Sorry for the dull answer!

 

How would you describe your volunteer role at Oxfam in one sentence?

I’m a generalist, so I work on the shop floor, process donations, and price books.

