When I dropped my CV off and filled in a volunteer form at Oxfam Books Petergate sometime in April last year, I didn’t expect to still be volunteering here almost a year later.

As a student at the University of York, I was mostly looking for some light work to fill my spare time and looking for the experience of working in a bookshop. I anticipated stocking shelves and working on the till, rather than what I actually do, which is to develop the online side of Oxfam Books!

I volunteer here once a week for four hours – standard volunteering hours – and typically spend the first two or three hours’ blogging and tweeting, and the rest of the time pricing and shelving books. Prior to volunteering, I wouldn’t have thought that tasks such as developing the blog would have been offered to volunteers, but there are a range of jobs that need doing here and the variation in what I do means that as well as loving my time spent at the shop, I’m also gaining experience in social media marketing (which really enhances my CV!)

As the New Year gets underway, we are again looking for new volunteers to offer four hours a week of their time to spend at the shop, whether that be shelving books, selling books or helping with the online business. Volunteering just four hours a week can make a huge difference to eradicating poverty and it gives you the chance to really expand your skills.

We’re also in need of a driver for book bank collections. As we’re a driver short, we’re looking for someone with their own car or van and a clean license, and someone who doesn’t mind a bit of physical work and will help us for four hours a week in collecting books from the book bank. We can reimburse all driver expenses.

My experience of volunteering at Oxfam Books has been brilliant, and although I only have 6 months left in York and the degree essays are piling high, I can’t quite bring myself to leave just yet! Volunteering here is diverse and rewarding – and the tea breaks aren’t bad either!

Oxfam are dedicated to raising money to end poverty, and volunteering for just a few hours a week really contributes towards this. If you’re interested in volunteering in the shop or being our driver we’d love to hear from you! Pop into the shop for a chat and to fill out a volunteer form or find us online:

Email: oxfamshopf0608@oxfam.org.uk

Tel: 01904 652749

Featured image courtesy of Christopher Michel

