For a few months now I’ve been hearing a lot about Pinterest (mainly from a few friends) and to be honest I wasn’t sure it was right for me. However, I have kept an eye on it and realised that it could be right for our shop. Pinterest is an online pinboard that allows a user to share visually as a pose to say Twitter that relies on a more textual approach.

As far as I can see there are few charity shops using it at the minute, but I’m sure that will change. For me and our shop it seems to be the perfect way of quickly separating out and sharing with others what we like on the internet.

What I have done so far is create four boards:

  1. Charity – this is where I pin all things that are relevant to Oxfam and out part within this. For example the ‘Big Bra Hunt’ campaign that is running at the moment.
  2. Donations – this is where I pin pictures of items that have been donated to the shop, which we like or find interesting.
  3. Articles on books – This is where I’ve been pinning any interesting articles on the web that are directly related to books and bookselling.
  4. Things we like – This is a place for everything else, not necessarily book related or even to do with charity but things that we feel others might enjoy seeing or knowing a bit more about.

I think as time goes on this may change; as both the shop and Pinterest evolve I imagine I will think of other ways of categorizing the shop’s activities. For now Pinterest reflects how the shop operates, in that we are multi-facetted – part charity shop, part second-hand bookseller, part community store and always interested in all things books related.

If you would like to see what we’re doing with Pinterest click here.

Featured image courtesy of mkhmarketing

