Mishearings book jacket

So, this morning I opened a bag of books and found a copy of ‘Modegreens: A Book of Mishearings’ and it got me thinking. I’ve always been the type of person who sings along to the radio, frequently getting the words wrong as I do – for years I thought the line in Lou Reed’s ‘Perfect Day’ was ‘Drinks and Gravy in the park’ [a somewhat northern influence on the New York songwriter?] rather than ‘Drink in the park’. As a result I’ve spent the morning thumbing through this book and have selected a top ten of mishearings:

  1. ‘Adolf, the other Raindeer’ – From Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer
  2. ‘Scuse me while I kiss this guy’ – from Purple Haze by Jimi Hendrix
  3. ‘Amazing grapes, how sweet thou art, To spare some for my tea’ – from Amazing Graze
  4. ‘Hope this lady voted for you’ – from Hopelessly Devoted to You by Olivia Newton John
  5. ‘Apartheid Lover’ – from Part-Time Lover by Stevie Wonder
  6. ‘There’s a bin full of ashes on the forty-five’  from Brimful of Asha  by Cornershop
  7. ‘Bill Oddie, Bill Oddie, Put your hands all over my body’  from Erotic by Madonna
  8. ‘Wouldn’t it be good to be in Yorkshire?’ from Wouldn’t it be good by Nik Kershaw
  9. ‘I love you for your pink anorak’ from Pink Cadillac by Bruce Springsteen
  10. ‘I can eat my dinner in a fancy red Sarong’ from Nothing Compares 2 U by Prince/Sinead O’Connor

Of course now i will have to put down the book and do some work, however if you have any more mishearings that brought a smile to your face, please let us know.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

